Mountain Lion Preview - Am I missing something?

Seriously, after reading a few articles (yes, I haven’t actually installed it yet) the amazing new feature list includes…

iCloud Integration: Nice, but not revolutionary.

Notification Center: Don’t we already have this with Growl?

Gatekeeper: A step backwards IMHO. I understand the reasoning but by making this the default, they are going to financially harm any developer not in the store.

Notes: Stickies

Messages: iChat

Calendar: iCal

Reminders: Nice, but its little more than a dashboard app. If they integrate Siri that would be nice.

Share Sheets: This has promise, the OS is due to have some social integration built in.

Game Center: Also very welcome, while not strictly needed, it will probably invigorate casual gaming on the mac.

AirPlay Mirroring: Also welcome, but, it seems like a fairly niche feature.

So really, I’m not sure of the direction they are going in, maybe I’m getting old and skeptical. But, I think the “Mountain Lion” part of this is just like ‘snow leopard’, not quite a full update even if it’s getting a new version number.

Things I’d like to see in a new OS X?

Seamless data management. Think time machine with hardware knowledge. “There appears to be 1025 files in 10gb that are only located on a single storage volume and are more than 30days old, please insert a blank bluray, sync to icloud, or add a new volume”. “there is data on a dvd-r you burned 3 years ago and is not backed up anywhere, please insert the disk to make it redundant.”

But, I fear they are going the Cloud Path with no looking back and I just don’t know if i’m a luddite for not wanting my data spread across that series of tubes…

**Bring back the Snow Leopard color schemes and scroll bar options.

**

True resolution independence.

Fix the issues with Lion automatic saving, things like mark a checkpointfor good versions.

Ok, thats all the rant I have in me at the moment…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7J2mmHtqw74